Here is where Lord Buddha gave his third discourse. The Ādittapariyāya Sutta "The Fire Sermon Discourse" Here the Buddha teaches about achieving liberation from suffering through detachment from the five senses and mind

It is here that he delivered this teaching to a thousand newly converted Ascetics who formerly practiced the sacred fire ritual

Having led the thousand bhikkhus monks to Gayā's Head, the Blessed One reflected, 'What kind of Dhamma talk would be suitable for them?' He then realized, 'In the past they worshipped the fire morning and evening. I will teach them that the twelve sense bases are burning and blazing. In this way they will be able to attain arahantship

T. S. Eliot's titling the third section of his celebrated poem, The Waste Land, "The Fire Sermon." In a footnote, Eliot states that this Buddhist discourse "corresponds in importance to the Sermon on the Mount

Bhikkhus, all is burning. Sabbaṃ bhikkhave ādittaṃ

In this discourse, the Buddha describes the sense bases and resultant mental phenomena as "burning" with passion, aversion, delusion and suffering. Seeing such, a noble disciple becomes disenchanted with, dispassionate toward and thus liberated from the senses bases, achieving arahantship

  • The six internal sense bases (ayatana): eye, ear, nose, tongue, body and mind
  • The six external sense bases: visible forms, sound, smells, tastes, touches and mental objects
  • Consciousness (viññāṇa) contingent on these sense bases
  • The contact (samphassa) of a specific sense organ (such as the ear), its sense object (sound) and sense-specific consciousness.
  • What is subsequently felt (vedayita): pleasure (sukha), pain (dukkha), or neither (adukkhamasukhaṃ).

  • By "Burning" (āditta) is meant:

  • The fire of passion (rāgagginā)
  • The fire of aversion (dosagginā)
  • The fire of delusion (mohagginā)
  • The manifestations of suffering: birth, aging and death, sorrows, lamentations, pains, distresses and despairs